What Are The Best Socks For Tennis – Summer 2020? | Foot Doctor Reviews 7 Socks in 7 Minutes

What Are The Best Socks For Tennis – Summer 2020? | Foot Doctor Reviews 7 Socks in 7 Minutes

What are the best socks for tennis players? We look at the 7 best socks for tennis summer 2020 with a bonus tennis compression sock as well. Socks are a key part of your tennis wardrobe and yet most people don’t pay much attention to them, however, your socks can be the difference between winning and losing especially if you play multiple days in a row. Companies make tennis socks for specific uses such as heat exchange and padding but not all tennis socks are created equal.

Time Stamps:
00:00 Video Intro
00:12 Why good socks are so important for tennis players
01:07 Why crew socks are better than ankle socks for tennis
01:43 The 7 best socks for tennis
06:24 The best compression sock for tennis players
07:20 Considerations for tennis players buying socks

— Grab a pair —
Thorlo – https://amzn.to/3akvieY
Nike Court Multiplier – https://amzn.to/2Ffb7U1
Adidas Traxion – https://amzn.to/3iu8VGs
Stance Boyd Crew – https://amzn.to/2DU0vcA
Vitalsox Compression – https://amzn.to/30QG6hq
New Balance – https://amzn.to/30QbNYh
Solinco – Check your favorite online tennis shop
( These are not sponsored but the links are Amazon affiliate, make sure you shop around for best price, Amazon usually has the best price but there are exceptions)

It is best to have at least 2 pairs of socks in your tennis bag at all times especially on a hot day and antifungal cream will help to stop your feet from heating up in the shoe.

If you are going to spend time and money researching your tennis shoes its only logical you should do the same with your socks! These are the best socks for tennis in 2020

Check out everything tennis science:
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/tennisprodoc/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/tennisprodoc
Website: https://www.tennisprodoc.com/
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/tennisprodoc/boards/

DISCLOSURE: I often review or link to products I regularly use and think you might find helpful. Wherever possible we use referral links, which means if you click one of the links in this video or description and make a purchase I may receive a small commission or other compensation.

Many of my links to products/gear are links to those products on Amazon. We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and related sites

50 Comments

  1. Villiam Stranf on December 22, 2021 at 11:22 pm

    Thanks for the review! Don’t you think that having lots (60-80%) of cotton in the sock is not good? As I understand, cotton isn’t a good material to transport moisture. As you play cotton sock gets wet faster and you won’t get comfort and nice cushioning



  2. Adam Frary on December 22, 2021 at 11:23 pm

    You have to check out trusox. So many pro soccer players wear them without even being paid to endorse them. That’s how you know they’re great. Confusing to me how they’re not big in tennis given all of the lateral movement. They’re a bit pricey but worth it!



  3. Ben Chan on December 22, 2021 at 11:24 pm

    What’s the purpose of a compression sock?



  4. ANAND GULANI on December 22, 2021 at 11:25 pm

    Salute doc Messiah



  5. Stefan Rahovean on December 22, 2021 at 11:28 pm

    I use the Nike cotton crew with 79% cotton and I do the double sock Federer style for extra comfort. I don’t like them in black or any other polyester sock simply because they get super slippery inside the shoes if your feet sweat. I actually can’t stand the Thorlos 🙂



  6. ANAND GULANI on December 22, 2021 at 11:29 pm

    Doc Messiah Zach. How would I know if I need level 3 or level 1 thorlos for tennis please. Also how would one know if we need max cushion or moderate cushion socks. Thanks a ton as always 🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏



  7. Tennis Junkie on December 22, 2021 at 11:29 pm

    Previously I had to wear two pair of socks to prevent blisters but a switch to a single ankle high compression sock (2XU) did the trick. I like them very much and have been contemplating going to the crew or full calf. I think I am going to try the brand you suggested instead.



  8. Allen Rodgers on December 22, 2021 at 11:39 pm

    I use smartwool light and medium PhD crew or half crew. I’m telling you wool is where it’s at



  9. Matthew Wu on December 22, 2021 at 11:42 pm

    Are the thorlo maximum cushions the same thing as their level 3



  10. ideal sporting on December 22, 2021 at 11:42 pm

    Doctor Great video needed some more guidance on tennis socks, I am a manufacturer socks from india
    My mail id isports999@gmail.com



  11. K-Mac on December 22, 2021 at 11:42 pm

    Dr. Motion socks work great for me. Discovered at TJ Maxx. Great compression, stability, and tie nails haven’t worn through yet… going on 6 months playing 4-6 days a week. Tried & true.!,



  12. KenneysSeeAmerica on December 22, 2021 at 11:44 pm

    Just played a week in the Thorlo socks. I play 4.0 Pickleball 4-5 hours, five to six days a week. These socks add just enough additional cushion for the bottom of my feet! Thanks.



  13. SCIENCE SAVES on December 22, 2021 at 11:45 pm

    How did you not include Darn Tough merino wool socks? Time to do another video 🙂



  14. eduardinodecielo on December 22, 2021 at 11:48 pm

    Your analysis of the socks is excellent.
    On the Thorlo I would add that they have a special fabric that allows sweat to always circulate in a "waterproof" way, so that the sweat passes into the shoe and does not return to the foot. With normal cotton socks, this "hydrophilic" material absorbs hot sweat from the inside and projects it back onto the skin of the foot. That is why after a while of use. the foot appears white and the areas near the nails slightly inflamed.
    When you work on the tennis court and have to spend more than three hours a day running after a ball, you notice a lot the difference. With Thorlo, the feet are perfect, no matter the intensity or the duration of the sessions.
    Another very important aspect of Thorlo is that the Achilles heel area does not tighten, but lacks elastic. It is a rectangular area that is at the back of the sock, which is totally loose. Wearing non-professional socks (even from reputable brands), you find that the elastic shaft of the sock goes down your leg fully adjusted to the heel, causing severe pain in case of suffering some discomfort. When you have an achilles tendon injury, the slightest pressure can cause discomfort and difficulty moving.
    In Spain they are not very popular, but from the time when American tennis players stayed at my house when they played ITF Futures, I realized that they all had in common, that they wore those socks.
    Congratulations on the work you do in your channel! By the way, we have a very similar professional trajectory, I have been a tennis teacher, although now I practice another profession as a lawyer … and yes … I also fasten my shoes with a safety loop, there are many people who do not know the utility of the hole of the laces that is right in the area of ​​above.



  15. Walter Bennett on December 22, 2021 at 11:48 pm

    I don’t know about other parts of the country or where the good doctor resides but the Thorlo socks, only socks I have worn for 20+ years, can be bought all day long for like 13.99 or 14.99 her in Atlanta. Or better yet, go online and order them directly from Thorlo. Awesome socks that will last years!



  16. Dan Lopez on December 22, 2021 at 11:50 pm

    My biggest issue is that, after about 5 minutes of play, my socks are bunched at my ankles. Nike, Stance, Adidas, etc…I don’t know what it is. Don’t know if anyone else has that problem but if you’ve found a solution, let me know.



  17. Mastiff Comms on December 22, 2021 at 11:50 pm

    We need a video of what combination of shoes, socks, best practices to prevent blisters. My entire forefoot under the first joint gets wrecked. Engo patches help but not totally. Tx



  18. vioac120 on December 22, 2021 at 11:51 pm

    Can you review the Uniqlo Tennis Socks too please? They always sell out fast, and I’m wondering what the hype is about.



  19. Tiago Godinho on December 22, 2021 at 11:55 pm

    Doc, Do you have any advice on how to avoid blisters? My foot plant near my thumb gets absolutely wrecked. Does the temperature inside the shoe have something to do with it?



  20. Scott Carnegie on December 22, 2021 at 11:55 pm

    Now that the multipliers Nike are no longer available, any alternative from Nike you recommend?



  21. Mark Moore on December 22, 2021 at 11:56 pm

    If you like wearing two pairs of socks would the Solinco socks then be the best choice for you out of your Top 7? What are your thoughts Doc?



  22. Adwin superjinx on December 22, 2021 at 11:56 pm

    Plantar fasciitis is here to stay. Was hoping good socks would help a little.



  23. megamind on December 22, 2021 at 11:57 pm

    Great video. I’ve tried the Solinco, they’re really good. My fave socks are the Tennis Warehouse Fitsok socks. Have you given them a try?



  24. transamination on December 22, 2021 at 11:57 pm

    Stance are great.



  25. idontknow1919 on December 22, 2021 at 11:59 pm

    I find wearing 2 pairs of white socks are more comfortable than these expensive socks



  26. Jin Jin on December 22, 2021 at 11:59 pm

    what do you think about Goldtoe tennis sock. i wear 2 pairs when i play, is that too much ?



  27. pierone pietrus on December 23, 2021 at 12:00 am

    Doc do you know enforma socks ? I just bought a pair for Achilles support , I think the company is from Spain . They have several models called tape-socks wich have a kind of tension band inside the sock. Quite expensive anyway.



  28. Jomar Candelaria on December 23, 2021 at 12:00 am

    how about lasso gear sock?



  29. HanzSygnal on December 23, 2021 at 12:02 am

    I like stance sox



  30. Jay Sean on December 23, 2021 at 12:03 am

    Can I help you with the audio? It’s very up and down.



  31. kaffenytt on December 23, 2021 at 12:04 am

    I use Nike Strike, it’s like the alphaskin in grip. I think it’s for football/soccer… It’s amazing anyways!



  32. SushiRex on December 23, 2021 at 12:04 am

    I’m soooo mad I didn’t send you a message a couple months ago. Did you consider "Lasso" compression socks?



  33. nikodc2008 on December 23, 2021 at 12:05 am

    With all the talk of environmental concerns around non organic materials shedding millions of particles into the water system each time they are washed, could you also do a review of the best 100% organic material socks out there (cotton, wool, etc)?
    -thanks



  34. Bman Busee on December 23, 2021 at 12:06 am

    Wasn’t a fan of the Thorlos. After a wear or two they get loose quickly and my foot kept sliding around in the shoe. Been playing in the Bombas compression sock and they are pretty good.



  35. Michael Espinosa on December 23, 2021 at 12:07 am

    Shout out to BOMBAS which make socks exclusively for tennis in 4 sizes and they are AWESOME. COmfortable, wicking, cushioning, and all around 4.5/5 stars from me. Fairly expensive although you can get 20% off your first order. My second hidden gem and awesome cheaper socks with all the benefits are: PAIR OF THIEVES, these are super comfortable and a great tennis sock!



  36. Jacob Sherf on December 23, 2021 at 12:07 am

    Great content. So helpful to have someone reviewing things nobody talks about in tennis! Any recommendation for which tennis shoe has a deep sole? I have to put orthotics and my heel rides high in some shoes.



  37. 3Slippers on December 23, 2021 at 12:08 am

    Love my Falke TE2 socks!



  38. Shakeel Abbas on December 23, 2021 at 12:08 am

    Would these same socks be good for Basketball also ? And are compression socks the best if you suffer from Plantar Fasciitis?



  39. Michael Joseph on December 23, 2021 at 12:10 am

    what about darn tough wool socks?



  40. Xiao Xiao on December 23, 2021 at 12:13 am

    great review! Is there a rule of thumb for what kind of socks (material, fit, etc.) will not be slippery inside a shoe?



  41. Nicholas Cardamone on December 23, 2021 at 12:13 am

    Have you checked out LassoGear.com – the Lasso socks? I’m seeing a lot of tennis players in Atlanta wearing them. Any chance you can review them and let me know what you think?



  42. Marty Jones on December 23, 2021 at 12:14 am

    I used to be able to get Head Performance socks at Steinmart, they are every bit as good and thick as the Thorlo, but Steinmart went out of business….ughhhhh



  43. Rishi Natarajan on December 23, 2021 at 12:15 am

    I just wear winter socks lol, because they are thick and they dont get holes easily.



  44. Dennis XJapan on December 23, 2021 at 12:15 am

    any site for heaven at XL?



  45. Jin Jin on December 23, 2021 at 12:17 am

    Doc, can you also do a review on leg or knee compression braces that you can play while playing high level tennis ?



  46. Bohumil Pinces on December 23, 2021 at 12:18 am

    I use babolat socks. They have pretty generous padding, they absorb sweat, feel great overall. Would love the Thorlo socks but the price is a bit too much for one pair, especially if you play 3 times a week lol



  47. Walter Hayley on December 23, 2021 at 12:18 am

    I have peripheral neuropathy. Is wearing compressions socks while playing tennis a good or bad idea? I’ve been wearing them for about a year, but I am starting to question that decision…



  48. Mark Moore on December 23, 2021 at 12:19 am

    I have tried all these socks and more and BY FAR the best tennis sock I have found, personally, is the ELSO Double Sock System. These socks check all the boxes – they are supportive, plush, durable, breathable, and moisture-wicking. If you have not checked them out you really need to. 

    A truly innovative development, the Elso Double Impact Performance Socks are a patented, two sock system that diminishes the friction between the sole of the foot and the shoe with a unique layout, thus providing you with additional comfort and support during any physical activity.



  49. maxpowers3732 on December 23, 2021 at 12:19 am

    This is a great channel! Your reviews are much better than most the infomercial ones on here. I sweat a lot and only play outside in heavy humidity so I’m happy to get your suggestions for heat exchange socks. I’ve been wearing ankle socks and sometimes they’re soaked when I’m finished playing.

    Also, I think my shoes were too tight before and were pushing down on the top of my foot. Could that cause calf pain? Seems like everything is connected.



  50. Adwin superjinx on December 23, 2021 at 12:20 am

    Great videos as always. Gotta be mindful on your audio volume levels.