The Most Complete Pickleball Non Volley Zone Rule Video – Pickleball 411

The Most Complete Pickleball Non Volley Zone Rule Video – Pickleball 411

Ever heard someone disagree about a non-volley zone foot fault? Look no further! This fun video is the most complete pickleball non-volley zone rule video ever! Packed full of information, it is a one-stop shop for you to have all your questions answered and learn more about the multi-faceted non-volley zone rule in pickleball. Hear from pickleball champions Alex Hamner and Jennifer Lucore alongside our host Rusty Howes, as they break down the non-volley zone rule in its entirety as well as show some helpful real-life examples of actual NVZ faults. Reviewed by the USAPA, this video is a necessity in understanding this fun game of pickleball!

If you want to see more exciting pickleball videos, visit our website at http://www.pickleballchannel.com.

For more information on our sponsor visit:
http://www.hylands.com/products/hylands-leg-cramps

50 Comments

  1. DC Alvarado on August 15, 2021 at 9:51 pm

    Seriously thinking on creating a Laredo Texas chapter for senior citizens on Pickle Tennis. Love the simple rules, the inexpensive equipment and size courts.



  2. Diana Ashton on August 15, 2021 at 9:53 pm

    H



  3. StarDance明星舞池 on August 15, 2021 at 9:53 pm

    Can I walk in the NVZ before the ball drops into the NVZ and hit the ball after bouncing?



  4. CoobieCube on August 15, 2021 at 9:54 pm

    I’m the only one who came from school? Ok



  5. Jakey Boy7 on August 15, 2021 at 9:56 pm

    Yessss …..so clear. #thanks



  6. butopiatoo on August 15, 2021 at 9:57 pm

    so the FOLLOWTHRU of your arm, if it DOES NOT TOUCH the NVZ that is LEGAL. Right? The airspace above the NVZ is not a fault. Right?



  7. Big Mac on August 15, 2021 at 10:02 pm

    I hate gym class.



  8. Jeff Peters on August 15, 2021 at 10:02 pm

    How about sweat? Can I call it a fault if I see my opponent dripping sweat into the NVZ?



  9. Pinballfear on August 15, 2021 at 10:04 pm

    And if i sneeze into de non volley zone?



  10. A person on August 15, 2021 at 10:05 pm

    Can you go in the NVZ only after the ball bounces in the NVZ, or is it okay to go in after it bounces anywhere on the court when your momentum carries you?



  11. Anthony on August 15, 2021 at 10:06 pm

    What if my sweat drips in the non volley zone or if I sneeze and my spit goes into the non volley zone? By the definitions of the rule, those should be considered faults, right? Or what if a bird flies by and I hit into the non volley zone? Or a bug for that matter? I think these are important distinctions that need to be clarified.



  12. Doc Pearson on August 15, 2021 at 10:07 pm

    Really I mean really why are you trying to say weird things like non-volley zone? why don’t you just go ahead and call it what the original inventors of the game call it? “the kitchen” and make it simple. Or are you just trying to be a little supercilious and esoteric.



  13. Dai Kayll on August 15, 2021 at 10:09 pm

    Great,thanx folks. Got it. Paddles and pickle on order.



  14. Russ Johnson on August 15, 2021 at 10:12 pm

    This is the way I talk about momentum into the kitchen. It’s a momentum rule, not a dead ball rule. The base kitchen rule is you cannot hit a volley while in the kitchen. So, even if you have a really great volley kill shot, but you are in the kitchen, you can’t hit it. Everyone is ok with this rule. The momentum rule supports this base rule. Again, if you have a great volley kill shot, but your momentum would take you into the kitchen, that’s the same as already being in the kitchen. So you can’t hit it. People want to say “if the ball is dead, the play is dead”. That’s not true. The momentum rule says even though the ball is dead the play is alive until the player who hit the volley has their momentum under control. So, it’s not the ball being dead that ends the play. It’s the momentum being under control that ends the play. Now with a ground stroke, momentum is not an issue. So a dead ball equals dead play. But with a volley, dead ball doesn’t mean dead play. Momentum being/not being under control determines end of play and who won the rally. You could actually demonstrate this by having someone hit a kill shot at the kitchen line and then flail around at the kitchen line. The announcer can say “The ball is dead but the play is still alive. The flailing player will either stay out of the kitchen or fall into the kitchen. At that point the play will be over and we can determine who won the rally” and you can have 2 endings. One with the player gaining control out of the kitchen and one with the player falling into the kitchen. . It’s a good rule. All it does is make players adjust their play like all the other rules do.



  15. tomalba7 on August 15, 2021 at 10:15 pm

    Okay so what if the ball bounces outside of the kitchen… It’s going at an angle. Your momentum carries you into part of the non volley. But the ball has bounced outside the kitchen



  16. gary m on August 15, 2021 at 10:16 pm

    If the ball bounces outside the NVZ, you return it then go into the NVZ is that a fault?



  17. Michael C. Fischbach on August 15, 2021 at 10:18 pm

    Keeping the volleys in pickleball would be a good idea. Mini-Tennis anyone?



  18. Sheila Ewall on August 15, 2021 at 10:19 pm

    I never knew about pickleball until my brother in law mentioned it to me this morning. It reminds me a bit of tennis and volleyball. Will continue to rewatch the video to become more familiar with it. Thank you for the video and illustration.



  19. David Webster on August 15, 2021 at 10:20 pm

    After you hit a volley, it is a fault if your momentum makes you touch the NVZ, even if the ball is dead. So, when can you re-enter the non-volley zone? Only on the next point?



  20. The Lutheran Laymen on August 15, 2021 at 10:20 pm

    That seems unnecessarily complicated. So in other words: the player is not aloud in the non volley zone unless the ball bounces first.



  21. yonathan carbajarmedina on August 15, 2021 at 10:20 pm

    jonas brothers



  22. Karen Leonard on August 15, 2021 at 10:20 pm

    Excellent learned a lot



  23. SITIVENI TANGULU on August 15, 2021 at 10:20 pm

    1:22 I have a question you know how the kitchen has the green on the sides? Can you step there if you wanted to whenever? Or…. please help lol😁



  24. Pancake Gaming Yt on August 15, 2021 at 10:21 pm

    If a ball bounces in the kitchen you step in return ball then before you step out another ball bounces in kitchen you can return it as well? Can you stand in kitchen any time?



  25. Bill Morley on August 15, 2021 at 10:21 pm

    If I have both feet outside the NVZ in contact with the court surface when I make a volley, how much time do I need to stand there before I can step into the NVZ after my volley shot? Or, how many seconds after I volley with both feet outside the NVZ must I wait before I can drop my sunglasses into the kitchen without fault?



  26. andrea quertys on August 15, 2021 at 10:21 pm

    if i jump from outside the non volley zone, hit the ball in air and land on the non volley zone is fault?



  27. Pilotgolfer 84 on August 15, 2021 at 10:22 pm

    Just started playing after years of tennis. Volleying without following through is annoying



  28. ron adami on August 15, 2021 at 10:22 pm

    When can I go in the kitchen AFTER I hit a volley?



  29. Chance Arnold on August 15, 2021 at 10:23 pm

    A very comprehensive and detailed video! You all covered absolutely ever scenario and the acting was brilliant haha.



  30. Christine Leahy on August 15, 2021 at 10:24 pm

    Very helpful!



  31. Russ Johnson on August 15, 2021 at 10:28 pm

    One thing I would like to see physically demonstrated by the pros is this. Some one serves a good serve but it is really short and just clears the kitchen. You run up and hit it after it bounces but your momentum carries you into the kitchen. I know this is not a fault, but you wouldn’t believe how many people say it is. People even say Well I play in tournaments and that’s how we play. The myth is that the ball has to bounce in the kitchen for you to go into the kitchen after you hit it. I know what rule 9F says, but you wouldn’t believe how strong this myth is, even among some 4.0 – 5.0 players. Thank you.



  32. Marco Gonzales on August 15, 2021 at 10:29 pm

    Yes all the rules are correct, except one rule of the video at 3:05 why the player is inside the kitchen if the ball hasn’t bounce in the kitchen yet.
    Please correct that rule!
    You can’t not be in the kitchen and wait for the ball to bounce 🤦🏻‍♂️



  33. Hunter Reynolds on August 15, 2021 at 10:29 pm

    How did I know this channel would have a ton of old people…



  34. Mike Howard on August 15, 2021 at 10:30 pm

    But if both feet are out of the kitchen and your paddle or other body part touches the kitchen before you hit the ball, like what was being shown on a drink, when can you hit the dink shot? The ball is headed towards the non volley zone, you touch the non volley zone but both feet remain outside the non volley zone, when can you make contact with the ball?



  35. Chris Nolen on August 15, 2021 at 10:30 pm

    so am i the only one who thinks the loud background music is unnecessary and does NOT make it sound all professional? otherwise great video btw.



  36. Leslie Adkins on August 15, 2021 at 10:31 pm

    This was EXCELLENT. I’ve heard so many different versions of this rule and it is now clear! Gracias…



  37. Colin Genge on August 15, 2021 at 10:32 pm

    why The background music blasting away and confusing the good information the announcers are trying to impart???
    this may be applicable to snowboarding movies but does not comport with the older set that play pickle ball.



  38. Betsy Lauber on August 15, 2021 at 10:35 pm

    Can the pickleball land in the kitchen after the serve and be playable?



  39. badmiyagi .s on August 15, 2021 at 10:36 pm

    Basically, you come away with the feeling that you can’t do any right. I physically and mentally have no problem adhering to it but a lot of others with pain and other issues do. So, since that rule is a bit bordering on ridiculous, I’m going to refrain from further commenting, lol! 🙄



  40. Minnesota Art Handt Dance Band on August 15, 2021 at 10:37 pm

    Very helpful. Thanks



  41. James Sather on August 15, 2021 at 10:38 pm

    At about 5:20 to 5:30 a non-fault example is shown where the player steps in kitchen, establishes contact with two feet outside kitchen, then volleys. Is this not actually a fault? Well prior to getting two feet down, the player takes a backswing that is clearly part of the volley stroke. Is not the backswing part of the volley?



  42. Robert VK on August 15, 2021 at 10:39 pm

    I never realized just how confusing the NVZ rules could be, until I read all the comments for this video.



  43. Rob Hehlen on August 15, 2021 at 10:41 pm

    So after hitting a volley, you cannot go in the NVZ until you’ve hit a bounce shot?



  44. Al Hausmann on August 15, 2021 at 10:43 pm

    Can be running toward the net to hit a ground stroke, the ball bounced just outside the kitchen, I hit the ball but over-run into the kitchen. Is this a fault?



  45. Gabriel French on August 15, 2021 at 10:45 pm

    I cannot tell you how many times people have called faults on me in recreational play when I step into the kitchen before a ball bounces (mostly if it tips the net so I can make it in-time) or if I "don’t get out of the kitchen before the ball was hit again"… Also, side-note: Don’t call foot-faults when your opponent is 6-inches away from the NVZ just to try and cheat your way to winning; you will be caught and nobody will want to play with you…!



  46. Melanie Kay on August 15, 2021 at 10:45 pm

    Uh…that guy volleyed in the kitchen?? Didn’t he?? The guy in blue??



  47. Gianna tr on August 15, 2021 at 10:46 pm

    I’m taking a test on this. Why



  48. CKCO13 on August 15, 2021 at 10:46 pm

    I ran into a lengthy discussion with someone (my partner) who said he officiates tournaments. I hit a shot in the air while standing at the NV line and won the point with it. We both looked down at my feet and he ruled that I was in the kitchen while I argued that I wasn’t. My feet didn’t move when and after I hit the ball and I hit it flat footed. However the point of contention was with the curved up part of my shoe that was over (but not physically touching) the line. He said that that didn’t matter, that it was still a violation. I argued that because the toe of my shoe never touched the floor and the line then I was good and the point should count. I gave in because we had a large lead and eventually won anyways. Who was right?



  49. Patricia Suiter on August 15, 2021 at 10:48 pm

    I’m waiting for the anime adaptation



  50. All Pickleball - Jennifer Lucore on August 15, 2021 at 10:48 pm

    I loved being a part of this video, for I share it often with my students. A great resource, thanks Pickleball Channel!