The 5 Best Over The Counter Orthotics For Tennis | Foot Doctor Performance Review

The 5 Best Over The Counter Orthotics For Tennis | Foot Doctor Performance Review

What are the 5 best over the counter orthotics for tennis from the perspective of a foot doctor and tennis professional? (Time Stamps Below)

Time Stamps
00:00 Video Intro
00:17 Differences between custom and over the counter orthotics
01:10 What makes a great over the counter orthotic for tennis
01:54 My 3rd favorite over the counter orthotics for tennis
03:03 My 2nd favorite over the counter orthotic for tennis
04:42 My favorite over the counter orthotic for tennis
05:48 Honorable mention for good shock absorbing orthotic
06:54 Honorable mention for low profile orthotic

–Grab a pair–
Powerstep Pinnacle: https://amzn.to/2DRYFce
Superfeet Green https://amzn.to/2PNDAm4
Superfeet Orange https://amzn.to/2XUMbI2
Birkenstock https://amzn.to/3ajWRF4
Spenco https://amzn.to/3kCREwR
( These are not sponsored but the links are Amazon affiliate, make sure you shop around for best price, Amazon usually has the best price but there are exceptions)

Come hang out with me:
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/tennisprodoc/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/tennisprodoc
Website: https://www.tennisprodoc.com/

Orthotics, or shoe inserts, as some call them can mean the difference in playing tennis pain free and suffering out on the court so when buying over the counter orthotics for tennis you want to make you get a pair of inserts that fit well, are durable, and actually serve a function in your tennis shoes

Of course custom orthotics, custom insoles for tennis are always going to be better if they are well made and accurately casted/scanned but for most tennis players an over the counter orthotic serves the same purpose.

So today we are looking at my 5 best orthotics for tennis that are available over the counter (otc) for tennis and how each one of them can help your game and prevent foot issues on the tennis court.

Just because a company labels an orthotic as a sports orthotic or sport insole doesn’t mean it will perform optimally and this video aims to debunk some myths about over the counter orthotic technology and marketing

I also give you some criteria for tennis shoe insoles (tennis shoe orthotics) so when you are thinking what orthotics to buy for tennis you have some ideas as to what features the inserts must have to earn your purchase.
DISCLOSURE: I often review or link to products I regularly use and think you might find helpful. Wherever possible we use referral links, which means if you click one of the links in this video or description and make a purchase I may receive a small commission or other compensation.

Many of my links to products/gear are links to those products on Amazon. We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and related sites

50 Comments

  1. Foot Doctor Zach on December 20, 2021 at 11:20 pm

    Check out my favorite socks for tennis – https://youtu.be/KoeIxN_SmtI



  2. David Jones on December 20, 2021 at 11:22 pm

    Thank you very much. I get my orthotics from the VA. Seem good. They seem to have what you were talking about w/ good ones. Thank you again. Always great videos.



  3. Larry Foster II on December 20, 2021 at 11:25 pm

    Is there a good orthotic for basketball and Achilles pain (my foot is more narrow than wide, especially toward the back/heel)?



  4. Cos Sav on December 20, 2021 at 11:26 pm

    Thanks so much Dr for this actionable video !



  5. Dustin Keeton on December 20, 2021 at 11:27 pm

    Been wearing the powersteps for 5 years.. new job requires me to walk all day on hard concrete .. I wear a new balance steel toe shoe. Having a lot of foot pain. Could the powerstep be to rigid ? Any suggestions? Also had a cheilectomy 3 years ago on right big toe joint..



  6. Tim Van den Akker on December 20, 2021 at 11:27 pm

    Any thoughts on the Aline yellow orthotics



  7. Terry Gray on December 20, 2021 at 11:28 pm

    My 1st orthotic arrives today! Do i remove the standard/OEM insole or just put the orthotic on top of it (if I have the room)? Powerstep Pinnacle going in some Speed FF 2’s.



  8. Bryce Kilmer on December 20, 2021 at 11:29 pm

    Can you wear an ankle brace with #1 and the thin profile orthotic? Thanks



  9. bz9 on December 20, 2021 at 11:29 pm

    Do you have any thoughts about the Currex brand? I’ve tried their running ones and saw that they also had the AcePro for racket sports



  10. Aaron Santos on December 20, 2021 at 11:30 pm

    would you recommend the superfeets green or orange for someone with a high arch and over pronates?
    local store currently got a sale on em 😋



  11. q on December 20, 2021 at 11:31 pm

    Any thoughts on heat moldable insoles like the ones from sole? Do they make much of a difference for low arch?



  12. St. Myka on December 20, 2021 at 11:31 pm

    Great vid. I’ve subscribed and really been burning through your channel since I discovered you two weeks ago and I just came by this one today. I have discovered that I probably would benefit from getting orthotics for basketball but the ones I have for daily wear just hurts when trying to play in them(super flat feet with pronation here lol)t. I’m trying to get 2 pairs for my KD14 and my Kyrie 7. What do you suggest? SUper feet perhaps?



  13. Phoniq on December 20, 2021 at 11:31 pm

    Great suggestions. Spenco Total support max has been great for me.



  14. Akshay Sinha on December 20, 2021 at 11:35 pm

    This information applicable to basketball players?



  15. Ethan Krafft on December 20, 2021 at 11:36 pm

    Do you deal with tennis toe as well?



  16. Carol Conroy on December 20, 2021 at 11:37 pm

    Hi Doc, Thanks you for another great video. I have very high arches plus a neuroma between 4th and 5th metatarsal. I am wearing the Genext (from Pedors) insoles with metatarsal pads. I am wondering if you have an opinion about these insole. Would you say metatarsal pads are the way to go? I like them because they are cushy yet supportive but they really fill the shoe. I already have difficulty with fit because of pretty wide feet and it is very hard to find wide enough shoes right now especially with the neuroma. I am thinking about trying the Powerstep Pinnacle. What do you think?



  17. Nico on December 20, 2021 at 11:39 pm

    Hi Zach, would you recommend the pinnacle maxx for tennis? I overpronate when walking



  18. Pranjal Jain on December 20, 2021 at 11:41 pm

    When will you make video on babolat sfx3?



  19. Billington Tong Realtor on December 20, 2021 at 11:41 pm

    Thoughts on FP-Insoles?



  20. Lefty_7_ on December 20, 2021 at 11:45 pm

    Great video as usual.
    I destroy the insoles fast (3 to 6 months).I use them to play tennis and I usually end up with a hole in the insole on the heel area. Any suggestions?



  21. Deb M on December 20, 2021 at 11:45 pm

    Do you have a preference on the best orthotic for bunions?



  22. steven glen on December 20, 2021 at 11:47 pm

    hey Dr Zach. wanted to ask i got a bunch of Propet insoles through Amazon, trimmed it to my size, and seems really nice already and i haven’t put it in the oven/microwave, my question is do i have too? or will me wearing it around and using my body heat be enough? thanks!



  23. STEVE K on December 20, 2021 at 11:48 pm

    I’m lookimg to find a tennis shoe and orthotic that would give me the best cushioning so I can play on hard surfaces. I have a bad ankle that does ok on wood floorsbut won’t tolerate cement tennis courts. Any recommendations? thanks



  24. Pranjal Jain on December 20, 2021 at 11:48 pm

    Also which is better babolat sfx3 or adidas solematch?



  25. Mr Robot on December 20, 2021 at 11:49 pm

    which of these is best for high arch foot



  26. Terrence Keenan on December 20, 2021 at 11:49 pm

    Hi Doc, I have some new superfeet that slide/creep-up to the outside of my forefoot after a set of tennis. They are only about 1 mm shorter than the stock insoles, but the same widthwise. What do you think?



  27. Brandon Knox on December 20, 2021 at 11:50 pm

    Thoughts on cadence ? Seem to be keen for tennis



  28. Mark Moore on December 20, 2021 at 11:53 pm

    I have read a lot recently questioning how beneficial orthotics really are. Once such article was published in the New York Times. In it, Benno M. Nigg has become a leading researcher on orthotics — those shoe inserts that many athletes use to try to prevent injuries. And what he has found is not very reassuring.

    The article sates: “For more than 30 years Dr. Nigg, a professor of biomechanics and co-director of the Human Performance Lab at the University of Calgary in Alberta, has asked how orthotics affect motion, stress on joints and muscle activity. His overall conclusion: Shoe inserts or orthotics may be helpful as a short-term solution, preventing injuries in some athletes. But it is not clear how to make inserts that work. The idea that they are supposed to correct mechanical-alignment problems does not hold up.”

    In his studies, he found there was no way to predict the effect of a given orthotic. Consider, for example, an insert that pushes the foot away from a pronated position, or rotated excessively outward. You might think it would have the same effect on everyone who pronates, but it does not.
    One person might respond by increasing the stress on the outside of the foot, another on the inside. Another might not respond at all, unconsciously correcting the orthotic’s correction.

    What are your thoughts on this conclusion, Zach?

    You can check out this full article at:
    https://www.nytimes.com/2011/01/18/health/nutrition/18best.html



  29. Angel Muñiz on December 20, 2021 at 11:53 pm

    Hi Doc. Know anything about the tread labs arch support? Thanks



  30. Rog Dodge on December 20, 2021 at 11:54 pm

    Hi Zach! I have an "inverse" orthotics question for you. What would be your top 5/bottom 5 shoes for players that use custom orthotics? Thanks in advance for your help!



  31. pedro araujo on December 20, 2021 at 11:54 pm

    Hey Zach do you know where I can find the powerstep pinnacle in Europe?



  32. Jonathan Layadi on December 20, 2021 at 11:55 pm

    Doc Zac, i am playing basketball and usually have jumping playstyle, i have knee pain and my feet are medium arc. I haven’t try orthopedic insoles but i have thick boost material insole that i haven’t try yet forefoot 0.5cm and 1.0cm at the heel it has a shape like orthopedic such as heel cup and arc support but the arc support is not stiff cause it is boost material, but it has great cushion.

    So, is it enough by using that for relief my knee pain or i should buy orthopedic insoles with stiff arc support? thankyou doc



  33. Brandon Knox on December 20, 2021 at 11:56 pm

    Thoughts on cadence ? Seem to be keen for tennis



  34. Grittymon PF on December 20, 2021 at 11:56 pm

    Thank you Doc Zach – very thorough review of custom insoles (noticed you put in the Powerstep Pinnacle into the New Balance 996v4.5 during your review of the latter…) Awesome job, Sir!



  35. Ted Pham on December 20, 2021 at 11:57 pm

    Hi Foot Doctor Zach, recently I sprained my ankle and did an X-ray. Found out I have low arch and navicular accessory bone below the ankle. A custom fit insole was recommended but it costs almost $600. Do you think an over the counter insole would suffice? Thanks



  36. Izzy Hack on December 20, 2021 at 11:58 pm

    Subscribed!



  37. Thurai81 on December 20, 2021 at 11:58 pm

    Great videos Zach, wish I had discovered you sooner! I have a normal to wide forefoot and medium to highish arch with narrow heels and ankle. I have the Vapor X and love the low to the ground, lightweight feel which goes well with my predominantly serve volley game. The issue I have with the Vapor X is the overpronation, would any of these orthotics help with correcting that? Or alternatively should I just look for another shoe?



  38. Pat Burgam on December 20, 2021 at 11:58 pm

    I am a 64-year old intermediate tennis player battling plantar fasciitis. I have been trying a variety of aggressively shaped, rigid insoles (Natural Feet, Heel That Pain, Performance Fit) intended to provide arch support and / or provide pressure to address PF. These insoles have offered me good relief in off-court shoes and work boots. Do you have thoughts on their usefulness in hard court shoes? And, if you have time for a second question, do you recommend avoiding tennis while trying to alleviate PF?



  39. Stanley Nguyen on December 20, 2021 at 11:58 pm

    Is the grip on the power step comparable to the super feet grip? I struggle with bloody toe nails. Out of your top three, which would you recommend for this?



  40. Noah Figueroa Real Estate Agent on December 21, 2021 at 12:01 am

    Thank you for making outstanding videos! You deliver great content with a clear voice that is not only easy on the ears but also enough voice inflections to keep my attention. I appreciate your time/effort in making and sharing your videos!



  41. Kyle Kay on December 21, 2021 at 12:01 am

    Any thoughts of the new GameDay brand orthotics?



  42. PGA WEST Fairways on December 21, 2021 at 12:03 am

    Hi Doc. I wear the Asics Court FF 2 but recently got customs orthotic inserts due a high arch. The FF’s have good arch support but not enough for me but with the new inserts they are too much. Is there a shoe that is relatively "flat" that you recommend to use with inserts? Thanks and great channel!



  43. Peyton Smith on December 21, 2021 at 12:05 am

    Hello! I am a tennis pro and I’m on my feet constantly for my job. Normally I don’t play as hard as some of my lessons but at the end of the day my feet are really sore. Which one of these insoles is best? Should I go the diabetic route or stick with something a bit more firm/athletic?



  44. ItzDime on December 21, 2021 at 12:06 am

    Hey, I currently have a Gel Res 8 shoe that is a half size or size too big (it’s 12 and Im typically an 11.5, with thorlo crew socks on) and was wondering what orthotic might help my foot fit a little better. I don’t like wearing two pairs of socks so I was curious if I should get an orthotic. If you recommend one which one and what size (11-11.5 or 12-13)? Love the videos!



  45. Diego Rivera on December 21, 2021 at 12:15 am

    Hi Doc!

    I just stumbled across your channel after Googling a tennis shoe I’m interested in buying – super good content! I do have a few questions though.

    1. I have a custom orthotic. How can I tell if it’s a good one? The bottom is super hard plastic that doesn’t flex at all. It does have a pretty nice heel cup and arch, as well as lateral support on the other side.

    2. I have super flat feet. I’m looking to get the Nike GP Turbo’s possibly to use with my custom orthotics. Would you recommend not using my orthotics?

    3. What tennis shoes do really well with custom orthotics?

    Thank you very much in advance and looking forward to hearing back from you!

    – Diego



  46. alibond07 on December 21, 2021 at 12:16 am

    Just put the powersteps in my shoes, and they feel so good i had to comment! Thanks so much. Only thing is finding shoes wide enough for me. Solecourt boost didnt fit right 🙁



  47. Naomi Kwan on December 21, 2021 at 12:16 am

    Can you do a video on how to choose tennis shoes please ? Or how do I know the one I ordered is the right one for me ? Please 🙏



  48. Johnny Lee on December 21, 2021 at 12:17 am

    Hey, Zach! I was thinking about getting the Powerstep insoles from Amazon but wasn’t sure which one to get. There’s a "Powerstep plus" and the regular one. I have flat to a low arch and pronate a lot.



  49. John Yang on December 21, 2021 at 12:18 am

    Sort of surprised you didnt include Superfeet Flex series. These are incredible!!!!



  50. Teddy Mike on December 21, 2021 at 12:18 am

    Great video. Because of my insertional and flat feet, i’m using an arch support from 3M, it helps me a lot, but it’s not confortable for playing tennis ou for a run. I bought easy feet insole, but didn’t like it. Any other suggestion ? Great channel, i just suscribed !