The 3 Best Tennis Shoes For Heel Pain (Plantar Fasciitis, Achilles Tendinitis) | Foot Doctor Review

The 3 Best Tennis Shoes For Heel Pain (Plantar Fasciitis, Achilles Tendinitis) | Foot Doctor Review

What are the 3 best tennis shoe for heel pain, plantar fasciitis, and Achilles tendinitis? As a foot doctor and tennis pro I review the best shoes plus a few honorable mentions.

Tennis Pro Doc Merchandise : https://shop.spreadshirt.com/the-tennis-pro-doc/

As a foot doctor and tennis pro I look at tennis shoes from several unique perspectives and I go through why these are my favorite tennis shoes that will help tennis players with heel pain and tennis players looking to prevent plantar fasciitis and Achilles tendinitis

Come hang out with me:
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/tennisprodoc/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/tennisprodoc
Website: https://www.tennisprodoc.com/

Tennis shoes good for heel pain have to have a dense, supportive midsole, rigid heel counter, and supportive shank to take strain off of the heel and Achilles

Tennis shoes that are low to the ground give good feedback to your feet but don’t necessarily help prevent injury when playing tennis multiple days in a row or multiple times a week especially on hard courts.

46 Comments

  1. lastmadcow on November 20, 2021 at 9:38 pm

    Out of the 3 would you say GP Turbo is the ideal for achilles chronic pain?

  2. Omar Tag on November 20, 2021 at 9:39 pm

    YOUR HELP IS MUCH APPRECIATED HERE!
    Hey Zach! Thank you for always being this informative! I have Achilles tendonitis and plantar fasciitis as well as ankle sprain. I saw you recommend the Nike Gp turbo for this, but where I live 90% of the courts are clay, and the gp turbo is for hard courts. Will this be a problem? and thinking about the Nike Vapor pro for clay as an alternative, what do you think?

  3. Foot Doctor Zach on November 20, 2021 at 9:39 pm

    Check out the latest tennis shoe review and teardown here: https://youtu.be/q1C8IaQFaIs

  4. Katima Mulilo on November 20, 2021 at 9:39 pm

    Developed PF and shin splints in my right leg wearing Uber3. I’m sort of wary about Adidas right now so not sure I would try out the Solecourt.

  5. Randall Livingston on November 20, 2021 at 9:43 pm

    Kswiss has best product.

  6. OFFSHORE VIDS on November 20, 2021 at 9:48 pm

    Which are the TOP 3 for women tennis players?

  7. Ace MacGruber on November 20, 2021 at 9:48 pm

    Great info. I just bought the Asics Gel Resolution 8 last week because it was recommended for stability and cushioning. The sole is rather hard to twist or bend.

  8. gomasonpatriot1 on November 20, 2021 at 9:50 pm

    What about stycon boa?

  9. Tennis Paris Brothers on November 20, 2021 at 9:50 pm

    Great video Zach !

  10. Mark Sadlowski on November 20, 2021 at 9:53 pm

    Great videos…thanks! Do you recommend using an orthotic for everyone? When would you NOT recommend one?

  11. fran1244 on November 20, 2021 at 9:53 pm

    What do you think about Wilson’s shoes?

  12. Theresa Whittington on November 20, 2021 at 9:54 pm

    Are there differences in the women’s versions of these shoes? I’m looking for a women’s tennis shoe for high arches and plantar fasciitis.

  13. Jack Spradlin on November 20, 2021 at 9:56 pm

    The 1st shoe, New Balance Lav had a low heel, the 2nd shoe, Nike had a high heel, which is better, everything I read is low heel, but you do lose some shock ability, get confused?

  14. Zaakir Mahomedy on November 20, 2021 at 9:56 pm

    Awesome. Thanks Zac

  15. UD Racing on November 20, 2021 at 9:57 pm

    The Mizuno wave 4 have a lot of cushion in the heel

  16. Pat Kelly on November 20, 2021 at 9:59 pm

    Hi what is the top 3 shoes for heel spur? pls provide links. thx

  17. Zach Anderson on November 20, 2021 at 10:00 pm

    Hi, can you review the Nike air zoom prestige shoes? Maybe compare them to the vapor x? Keep up the good work!

  18. K V on November 20, 2021 at 10:01 pm

    Thank you so much for the amazing breakdown!

  19. Kledis Kapera on November 20, 2021 at 10:01 pm

    Yo man hello, nice video i like your content ,recently i had to put some orthopedic insoles in my shoes for the fact that i have a flat foot and when i run after the exact 3 minute mark my tibialis anterior muscle ( front calve muscle ) gets blocked and burns but im not out of breath or resistance of muscle its just a genetic problem and when i went to the doctor that made me the costum laser scanned insoles he told me to wear hard heel counter shoes, the problem is i really hate mountain shoes or ugly lookimg shoes and i wondered if you knew any nike shoes with hard herl support. Also do you think if i run all the time with these insoles the problem gets away because im having a hard time to live with the fact that i can’t run and i don’t think my doctor knows what he is really doing. Thanks if you reply to me man.

  20. Pete P on November 20, 2021 at 10:03 pm

    Thanks so much for your hard work. I’ve watched a bunch of your videos regarding heel pain trying to find the right shoe to get me back playing consistently pain free. I finally settled on the nike gp turbo and they are in the mail as I write this. I’m wondering if they can be ‘upgraded’ with a pair of Powerstep Pinnacle insoles.

  21. Pierre Lalanne on November 20, 2021 at 10:05 pm

    Great video. What about a video about the best shoes for people with knee issues ?

  22. Ruben Guilloty on November 20, 2021 at 10:06 pm

    Where can I find the Adidas
    Sole Court Boost Shoes?

  23. John Yang on November 20, 2021 at 10:07 pm

    Lav 1 or Lav 2?

  24. oscar giron perez on November 20, 2021 at 10:08 pm

    Hi! I have always train and compete in barricades, now sole court because of the durability. But now I´m thinking to train on sole court and save my new vapor X to compete only, did you think is a good idea for my feet? I have no feet problems btw.

  25. Sharon Cheung on November 20, 2021 at 10:08 pm

    I have recently developed some pain on the inner side of my ankle (Anterior Tibialis?). Are the three shoes you mentioned also provide good support for the ankles?

  26. Ignacio Rodriguez on November 20, 2021 at 10:10 pm

    Could you please comment on the Wilson Rush Pro 3.5?

  27. Alan Woodard on November 20, 2021 at 10:11 pm

    How about doing review of the best shoes for flat feet?

  28. SpireForever on November 20, 2021 at 10:13 pm

    What about some vapors 10 for someone with plantar fascitis ?

  29. dragos serbanescu on November 20, 2021 at 10:15 pm

    It is not true what you say. Yonnex power cushion 3 and Adidas solecourt primablue it is not so coushioned.

  30. sachin k on November 20, 2021 at 10:15 pm

    not sure above will work or not but sharing my experience.

    I suffered from plantar fasciitis for around 3 years. I tried stretching, physio, night sprint and ice for around 2 years without much relief. After that, I tried a steroid injection as advised by a renowned doctor but after 6-month more intense pain returned. One of the doctors advised me to reduce weight and wear a “doctor extra soft slipper”. As I can’t wear slipper to the office, I bought a pair of gel nimbus as advice over the blogs. **And surprisingly, the pain was gone within 10 days of the use of gel nimbus and doctor slippers. **I just made sure to wear either the show or slippers and never walked barefoot. Gel Nimbus 22 was expensive but worth each penny, but not sure about latest nimbus versions.

  31. Hugh O'Neill on November 20, 2021 at 10:16 pm

    Hi Zach, lots of talk these days about why we can’t buy tennis shoes that are as ‘marshmallow soft’ as many running shoes. I’m not a pro and just want running shoe soft cushioning, with some toe and nail protection on the upper. Many of us 60 year olds feel this way ! Our running shoes are like walking on air, but none of our tennis shoes are ! Is this because they would wear out too quick ?? Thanks! Hugh

  32. 3Slippers on November 20, 2021 at 10:17 pm

    Really enjoying your channel. I have mild heel pain and off and on achilles tenderness. Completely chuffed (very pleased) with finding this detailed advice from a pro. I’ll be trying out these recommended shoes, thankyou!

  33. Dennis XJapan on November 20, 2021 at 10:19 pm

    Sorry what did you say in the beginning ? Never through heal cups ??

  34. Lucio Mastrosimone on November 20, 2021 at 10:22 pm

    Can you recommend good tennis shoes for those suffering with peroneal tendonitis? Many thanks!

  35. skeet0rz on November 20, 2021 at 10:22 pm

    Just got diagnosed with Haglund’s. I was surprised since I have flat feet – I thought Haglund’s was more typical for those w/ high arches.

    Been using Nike vapor line for 6+ years. Once they stopped making the Nike Zoom Vapor Tour 9.5, I bought as many as I could off eBay – I still have a closet full of them. I cut a hole in the heel and it provides instant relief, but the hole is very close to the top and it feels a bit unstable. Those Adidas Soul Court boost have such a high heel backing that I think I could cut a hole and it wouldn’t be so close to the top.

    Got any advise for me?

  36. Ashwin Subrahmanya on November 20, 2021 at 10:23 pm

    Another idea for a video- Describe what symptoms you may feel if let’s say there is some problem with your current tennis shoe ? I have a tennis shoe where there is some heel slippage and after I play with it, I have some stiffness in the back. Don’t know if correlation is causation here?

  37. Louis Budi Soesanto on November 20, 2021 at 10:24 pm

    The best tennis shoes for heel pain is adidas SoleMatch Bounce. In 10 minutes you will develop a very painful blisters on your inner arch and voila, you forgot you have heel problem.

  38. Jack Spradlin on November 20, 2021 at 10:25 pm

    I have a wide forefoot, do these shoes? Tennis Warehouse has Asics Gel 8 wide and K Swiss Ultra Shot 2 as the most supportive, stable, tennis shoes, I bought the K Swiss Ultra Shot 2, not as comfortable as the K Swiss Hypercourt that I was wearing when I got plantar fasciitis but way more supportive and plantar fasciitis almost gone. I would like a little more comfort as long as stability is there, will look into your shoes, hope they are wide enough in forefoot.

  39. eduardinodecielo on November 20, 2021 at 10:25 pm

    What about Babolat Propulse Fury? After a partial damage of my Achilles Tendon in a tournament final, wearing Adidas Ubersonic Clay, my doctor recovered me with platelet-rich plasma. It’s a milacre and now I can perfectly play. I tested Jet Mach II and Fury. I discovered playing two rounds in the same day, that the second match, wearing Fury, was effortless landing after jumping to return a high one handed backhand. You don’t need to do so much effort with your knees ligaments.
    Have you try those that Benoit Paire wears???

  40. prigilify on November 20, 2021 at 10:26 pm

    now that Adidas Barricade is released , where would that come on this list?

  41. Hooloovoo 9000 on November 20, 2021 at 10:26 pm

    Thanks for your videos, i am watching almost all the teardowns. Great work
    Question: I have a recurring pain around the ankle(mostly backside) which lasts for 4-5 days and has been happening lately for like once a month for the last 3 months. I see the original stycon going as low as 70CAD but would they make my ankle pain worse?
    I currently have original solecourt parley, Cage4 and planning to add the original stycon hardcourt.

  42. Keven Fitzgerald on November 20, 2021 at 10:27 pm

    Thank you for this video. I tend to purchase whatever on-sale shoe from online tennis retailer grabs my eye. I haven been playing with the Wilson Kaos 03 shoe and I have noticed a lot more Achilles pain after I get done playing. Is it possible to explain why this particular shoe would cause more pain? I really like the lightness of the shoe and the look of it, but, I am going to have to switch to a different shoe based on the pain. Going to go with one of the ones from the this video.

  43. Jack Griffin on November 20, 2021 at 10:34 pm

    What would you suggest for someone that tore their plantar had surgery and is coming back?

  44. Vijay Kumar on November 20, 2021 at 10:34 pm

    Hello zach, can you please review the artengo tennis shoes especially the TS990 model?

  45. Nick Neras on November 20, 2021 at 10:35 pm

    100 % Right!!! Adidas help me with PF

  46. Teddy Mike on November 20, 2021 at 10:36 pm

    Hi Zach i got insertional tendonitis ( different from a traditional achille tendonitis), pain is lower. I tried Adidas solematch and Court Jam and it didn’t help. Any other suggestion? Thank you!

Leave a Comment