Pickleball paddle review–six new paddles

Pickleball paddle review–six new paddles

My review of six new pickleball paddles I bought, plus my current paddle:
Ascend TMPR
Kinetic Ovation Speed II
Electrum Pro
Onix Evoke Premier
Selkirk Invikta
Engage Pursuit MX 6.0
Players Pickleball Rogue 2

11 Comments

  1. Neal Conner on November 10, 2021 at 8:42 pm

    I know your assessment of 4 of the paddles are dead on. This is why I want to try the Rogue 2, however I couldn’t find the paddle listed for sale in the pickleball central store

  2. jesse carl on November 10, 2021 at 8:51 pm

    Great review. Is the rogue 2 fairly head heavy?

  3. Centerman66 on November 10, 2021 at 8:58 pm

    How do you test a paddle if you leave the cellophane on it? The surface is a key component, no?

  4. Dave Tribbett on November 10, 2021 at 9:00 pm

    Good reviews, thanks! I went with the Pursuit MX 6.0 – ⅝ thick (control), LITE version 7.8oz (power) and the longer handle 5-¾ (stretch). I got the oblong shape for the extra ¾" of length over the rectangular version. I was coming from a Onyx Z5 paddle which was decent but isn’t as good as the Engage for control, power, spin (and unspin) or hard to reach shots (6′ tall). I’ve only being playing for 4 months and started with the 2nd cheapest paddle on Amazon – it was fine for learning though. Control is the most important thing for me and I could tell immediately that I had better control over location. I tend to spin intentionally on most shots – the MX is off the chart for generating spin. I also noticed that it was better at dealing with spin on returns which allows me to hit the ball before it reaches its apex. This paddle improved both my singles and doubles game. Probably a little of the placebo effect going on but I’ll take it!
    I appreciate you doing the video most reviews talk about materials more than actual playability.

  5. Richard's World Traveler on November 10, 2021 at 9:03 pm

    The new Electrum paddle acts nothing like the original. The new one hits very soft and mushy. Since you have the Engage paddle, add a little bit of lead weight to it. Experiment with location and amount of lead.

  6. Elizabeth Heyenga on November 10, 2021 at 9:05 pm

    Players Rogue2 for evah!!!

  7. Aurelio Roca on November 10, 2021 at 9:07 pm

    Nice review. My original paddle was the Prince Response pro. Found the Rogue 2 to be head heavy in comparison and I didn’t like it. However the balance on the Electrum pro was almost the same as the Prince and it’s currently the one I use.

  8. Mike on November 10, 2021 at 9:12 pm

    I own both the Players Pickleball Rogue 2 and ProKennex Pro Flight paddle with the classic face. I had the same experience with the Kinetic Ovation Speed II, it honestly felt weird when I first hit it, like it had this unpredictability when you hit it. The Pro Flight for me fixed all of the issues with the Ovation Speed II

  9. Conrad on November 10, 2021 at 9:13 pm

    Between the Engage Pursuit and the Rogue 2, which one do you think had better control/touch?

  10. Elizabeth Heyenga on November 10, 2021 at 9:18 pm

    Paul Atkinson – their science is for real. The Rogue2 fixed my pickleball elbow (after Pro-Kennex and Prince did not, and I didn’t love playing on them). I bought it because I liked how it played but the vibration dampening is amazing. They don’t promote it because it isn’t quantifiable and they are straight up folks. But less vibration, happier arm

  11. Mark Bolding on November 10, 2021 at 9:36 pm

    I’ve been on the fence between the Gearbox GX5 and the Rogue 2. I was hoping you could share the promo code for the Rogue 2

Leave a Comment