Eddie Reviews the Selkirk Epic Vanguard Paddle

Eddie Reviews the Selkirk Epic Vanguard Paddle

Eddie does an in-depth and thorough review of the NEW Selkirk Vanguard Paddle. This is the Epic Midweight version, weighing in at just over 8 oz.

#selkirkvanguard
#selkirk
#pickleball

20 Comments

  1. Kevin Osborn on November 18, 2021 at 9:24 pm

    Great review Eddie. Love to see independent paddle reviews like this where paddles are compared objectively. There are so many paddles out there that this type of review is the only way many of us can compare and contrast them because we certainly can’t demo them all.

  2. Jeremy Smith on November 18, 2021 at 9:27 pm

    This is a really good review. So many pickleball videos I watch are so cheesy and lame and I can’t stomach it at all. The whole thing from beginning to end is done really well.

  3. Richard Barton on November 18, 2021 at 9:27 pm

    Eddie, you talked me out of buying the Vanguard. Thanks for the review.

  4. jim Assalone on November 18, 2021 at 9:30 pm

    Any player using one paddle at least for several months makes changing to different paddle difficult. You will always be less consistent at the beginning and suffer through inferior play losing points and games you might have otherwise won. Most players aren’t willing to do this unless young enough to not worry about short term Downturn for potential gains over time. Everything you said leads me to believe the Paddletec Tempest is a faster paddle overall and that’s why your control shots tend to start dropping short when muscle memory kicks in. If you have a good solid all around paddle thinking a different paddle will get you to the next level is just not reasonable. Hard training, playing, and analyzing your game daily will get you there with the same paddle you’ve developed a feel for and grown to love. (The burgeoning Paddle Industry be damned).

  5. The watcher on November 18, 2021 at 9:35 pm

    Selkirk & Head Paddles have more of a tennis grip, while Paddletek & Engage have more of a rounded grip

  6. Amy Hamilton on November 18, 2021 at 9:38 pm

    Great review bc I also use the tempest pro so I was very curious to see how you compared them. I’ll stick with my pro. Thanks!!

  7. Dale Coffing on November 18, 2021 at 9:38 pm

    I really appreciate your review and thoughts. However, I think to do a review based on one day of play is pretty unfair to give a fair review on it overall. You need to give it some time like a week or even two of play.

  8. David Beasley on November 18, 2021 at 9:41 pm

    The review reminds me of pro level golf club reviews. A mid handicapper trying to play forged irons is not going to do as well as with cavity back game improvement iron.

  9. run_gavagai_run on November 18, 2021 at 9:44 pm

    The S2 is a more forgiving paddle with a larger sweet spot.

  10. john raschilla on November 18, 2021 at 9:45 pm

    I’m a 3.0 been playing 21 months, no real back ground in paddle sports. and I love this Paddle after demoing it for 2 hours I bought the paddle! And a week later Won Gold in 50yo 3.0 Men’s Doubles! I’ve heard the Stories about getting a new paddle and playing in tournaments to soon with aNew Paddle. Well I was so comfortable with this paddle that fear was replaced with confidence. I found myself making more consistent shots! Like you this was my 1st time playing with a Selkirk and I’m glad I did!

  11. Whallen Danville,Ca on November 18, 2021 at 9:51 pm

    Isn’t the grip different from tempest wave pro grip? Do you feel the balance of the vanguard different from the tempest wave pro?

  12. consecrow on November 18, 2021 at 9:55 pm

    Love honest feed back

  13. phill chinn on November 18, 2021 at 9:57 pm

    The used Vanguard I bought for $149, from Pickleball Central , works well for me great touch and control,
    With about 3 hours of doubles play., it is a recommended buy. But good luck because it is back ordered. . My favorite paddles have a carbon fiber or graphite components. I have two other Selkirks,
    Paddletech, engage, and onix paddles,
    I think you might need more than on favorite paddle . Every sport enthusiast has many of his or her favorite gear, fishing poles, golf clubs, cue sticks, bowling balls, So a if you base not buying this paddle based on one review, you are missing a great paddle.

  14. Jeremy Huang on November 18, 2021 at 9:59 pm

    Hi Eddie, that is a great review, I love it. I have business inquiry to you, would you like to have a further communication with me??

  15. Joseph J on November 18, 2021 at 10:00 pm

    nice review. thanks

  16. Kevin Webb on November 18, 2021 at 10:03 pm

    Great review my friend… nice drone footage too!

  17. Doug Niwa on November 18, 2021 at 10:05 pm

    Very good review, well balanced. Thanks!
    – Doug.

  18. Georgia Walker on November 18, 2021 at 10:09 pm

    Very interesting since I have also played with the Tempest Wave Pro since last fall. Wonder if the other Vanguard models would feel different?

  19. giffy5775 on November 18, 2021 at 10:10 pm

    Great review, everything you said was right on. It’s also true of any Selkirk Amped series that if you don’t hit the sweet spot the ball doesn’t go as far. They are less forgiving than Paddletech but if you can master them the control is much better at the expense of some power. Paddletech has allot more power but is less consistent in placement. Choose your poison.

  20. Richard's World Traveler on November 18, 2021 at 10:15 pm

    I was afraid you would only say positive things. I appreciate your honesty. I watched the new Selkirk video and they claim they made this paddle "more forgiving". Later this summer they will have the power version which they claim has a smaller sweet spot than this one.

Leave a Comment