Common Pickleball Rules Questions ANSWERED!

Common Pickleball Rules Questions ANSWERED!

The most common type question I get in pickleball is about the rules. And no other type of question comes even close! In this video, I will take you through some of the most common pickleball rules questions that I get! I’ll help you understand line call rules, kitchen rules, serving rules and more!

Links to more Pickleball Kitchen content:

Gear I recommend:
Paddle reviews:

Are you completely new and want to get into the sport? Welcome! You can start by going here:


  1. Kathy Perry on May 4, 2021 at 11:00 pm

    If ball hits net and bounces out of bounds , it’s out? Right…

  2. Karen Kupczyk on May 4, 2021 at 11:01 pm

    This is very helpful and very well explained. Thank you.

  3. Peter Amirault on May 4, 2021 at 11:01 pm

    QUESTION: Is there any time when after hitting a ball you can go into the kitchen? When the ball didn’t bounce in the kitchen. Like running up from the back row, hitting the ball in the backcourt and your momentum carries you into the kitchen and the point is over when your opponent misses the ball.

  4. Mike S. on May 4, 2021 at 11:02 pm

    During the pandemic, many of us are restricted to singles play (because of physical distancing) and "skinny" singles because of conditioning! Could you mention the rules regarding serving and scoring in "skinny" singles? Also, could we get a movement going to have a line to divide the kitchen for skinny singles?

  5. Daniel Russo on May 4, 2021 at 11:05 pm

    We had an instance where a player hit the ball kind of twice with the paddle but in one forward motion. Is this a fault?

  6. benneyoboy on May 4, 2021 at 11:05 pm

    On a serve, if the ball hits the kitchen line, is it considered out? I’ve heard that this is the only time when a ball hits a line and it is considered out, can you confirm?

  7. Steven Langert on May 4, 2021 at 11:06 pm

    How would you call this? Team A barely gets the ball over the net. The ball’s backspin carries the ball back over the net to Team A’s side. Team B reaches over the net (without touching the net) to hit the ball for a winner. Was Team B’s hit legal? According to the rules, if Team B does not hit the ball before it lands on Team A’s side, Team A would win the point. The rules don’t cover whether reaching over the net is legal or not,

  8. mark thompson on May 4, 2021 at 11:06 pm

    Shame that there is no CAptoon for me to learn cuz I hard of hearding or deaf that shamed love learn rule

  9. cnlicnli on May 4, 2021 at 11:07 pm

    SCENARIO: My opponent hits a high lob return; from its direction & trajectory, it’s *OBVIOUS(!)* the ball will bounce on my side of the kitchen.

    QUESTION #1: Do I have to wait until the ball lands in the kitchen BEFORE I can enter the kitchen?

    QUESTION #2: Or can I step into the kitchen *BEFORE* the ball bounces in the kitchen to make the play? At no time am I volleying in the kitchen.

  10. YANKEE ZULU on May 4, 2021 at 11:09 pm

    What camera do you use? Thanks.

  11. B R on May 4, 2021 at 11:10 pm

    Thanks for the helpful video. I played pickleball for my first time a couple of days ago. I understand that only the server can get points during a game. My first game was going quite slow being a rookie so my opponent (who is also a rookie playing for his first time) and I changed the rule so that each serve, no matter who served it, was a point to whichever side scored the point. This made the game go much quicker and lots more fun. Something similar happened in volleyball to make it a quicker game and more fun was to change the rules so that every serve, no matter which team served, was a point. I wish that type of rule was put into place to make the pickleball game go quicker, and in my opinion, be more fun. Is there any talk of doing this or making this change?

  12. sarah donahue on May 4, 2021 at 11:10 pm

    My favorite pball youtuber.

  13. Michael Lewis on May 4, 2021 at 11:10 pm

    A couple of questions that came up recently in our league play (no referee),
    1 – if your opponent and their partner are chatting with each other and you are ready to serve to you need to wait until they are ready to receive the ball or can you go ahead and serve (they were taking a while to chat)?
    2 – We were serving and my partner called out the score (it may or may not have been accurate) the opposing player could not return the serve but their partner stopped playing and asked what score the server called out. That person insisted we reserve. Is that proper?

    Thanks, I watch you for all my pickleball advice!

  14. Reuben Swinkels on May 4, 2021 at 11:11 pm

    During a serve, does your paddle not also need to be in a low to high trajectory at the point of impact? Like you cant slice down on the ball?

  15. sara herring on May 4, 2021 at 11:12 pm

    Are there any rules about changing players after a match? For example, say a group of 12 players are playing on 3 public courts. There are 3 people on sideline waiting to play after a game ends, can one set of 4 people that were playing together make a rule that the next person up to play the winners when the game ends, could not play on that court because the four of them want to keep playing together.

  16. Carla Norris-Hopkins on May 4, 2021 at 11:14 pm

    Great video as usual. Now if our team calls a ball out and our opponents object I thought we would have the benefit of the doubt since the ball is closest to us and it would be our call.

  17. Michael Pless on May 4, 2021 at 11:16 pm

    I understand that if you hit a volley and your momentum carries you into the kitchen, that is a fault. What if i am playing back and I run up to hit a ball that bounces outside of the kitchen, and then my momentum carries my into the kitchen ….is this allowed?

  18. jim Assalone on May 4, 2021 at 11:16 pm

    I see this video is several months old but here’s my question for anyone in the know. If a high ball is coming into my no- volley zone can I enter the zone before ball hits court to set up for a kill shot or must I wait until ball hits court and then step in to make shot?

  19. Matteo Schatz on May 4, 2021 at 11:22 pm

    Quick question, what are the rules for forfeit?

  20. Jack Varuso on May 4, 2021 at 11:23 pm

    Barrett, thank you, thank you for another informative video. This video comes at a prefect time in my city’s explosive growth.

  21. Abdel Gonzalez on May 4, 2021 at 11:24 pm

    You have one of the best and most informative pickleball channel on YouTube. Awesome video, thanks! Quick question: What if you toss the ball for the serve and then change your mind (maybe a sudden gust of wind) and you don’t swing and let the ball bounce. In tennis you can just try again. What’s the rule in pickleball?

  22. Scott on May 4, 2021 at 11:24 pm

    I have been playing pickle ball for about 3 months. Whenever I see videos of high level players it seems they rarely go in the kitchen. What is the right approach to entering the kitchen. Seems like I should really try and avoid entering it unless I absolutely have to. Is there ever a scenario where it would be advantageous.

  23. Julie Waters on May 4, 2021 at 11:25 pm

    I have just started my obsession with Pickleball – your videos are great!! Thank you!

  24. Wayne Smith on May 4, 2021 at 11:25 pm

    This isn’t the kind of rule that’s written, but see if you agree with me. When I’m receiving serve and the ball is close to the center line or the sideline, I’m looking approximately “down the line” and I should make the call of in or out. My partner has an inferior view and should stay silent. Conversely, if the ball is close to the kitchen line, my partner has the superior view and should make the call. If the ball is close to the baseline, neither of us has a “down the line” view, but I should make the call because I’m closer. To take it further — on any shot, if a partner is looking “down the line” in question, that partner should make the call. Otherwise, the partner closest to the ball should call it.

  25. Margaret Harris on May 4, 2021 at 11:25 pm

    A question – when playing a recreational game who gets to call whether the ball lands in or out? Is it the person closest to the ball? His/her partner? Players on the other side of the net? People on the sidelines watching the game? This issue causes much dispute with among players I often play with and it would be great to hear your "call" on this question. Thanks.

  26. Gabriel French on May 4, 2021 at 11:25 pm

    Great video once again, man…! I unfortunately had an incident just this last weekend where I had to call a fault on someone, and I REALLY don’t like doing that, I typically give the benefit of the doubt and especially try to let things slide in recreational play.

    The case was, me and my partner (4.0 players) were playing two female 4.5 players in a morning rec. match. Well, my partner accidentally popped up the ball, and the same lady slammed the ball back at him twice. That’s when I knew I wouldn’t be receiving the ball soon, and looked at her foot positioning to check if everything was legal. Her foot was well over the line, and I would’ve let it slide had she not done the same thing twice, and then proceeded to bury herself even further in the kitchen to slam one at my partner’s body. At that point, you deserve to know you were doing something illegal.

    She slammed one more illegal overhead and I called "Kitchen Fault–look at your feet" (I know the correct term is technically "Foot Fault," but I was in the moment and forgot). She immediately jumped back behind the line and said the most forced "Whaaat…?" I had ever heard. I politely said "You were hitting your overheads like this" and demonstrated how her foot was over the line and she was leaning into her shots, putting herself more and more into the kitchen.

    She deliberately slap-shotted the ball back at my father for the change-of-serve, and cursed at me while walking back. She also targeted me, trying to hit drives and hard volleys at me even when in a bad position to. I either returned a volley, reset the point, or let it fly a mile out-of-bounds. After the game was over, she refused to say "good game" and just walked away.

    I’m not saying this to hero-ize myself. I didn’t like doing it and don’t know if I’d do the same thing if I went back in time, but please remember the rule of "Benefit of doubt goes to the opponent" and if you do something wrong, just move on. If someone was deliberately calling lies, there would be a trend and they’d get reported or called-out. In my case, there were four people watching who, when she walked away and cursed after I called the fault, said "I mean, it was a foot fault."

    If you ever play a match against me, recreational or competitive, please call me out on anything. I’d rather realize "now" then when it’d seriously matter.

  27. Nobody Special on May 4, 2021 at 11:30 pm

    Can you please discuss defending against around the post shots?

  28. MikeyK on May 4, 2021 at 11:32 pm

    Thank you, great video, I learned a few things. I do have a question, Can you hold a can of beer when playing? (lol)

  29. gilbert amthor on May 4, 2021 at 11:32 pm

    So damn funny! If there wasnt. kitchen there wouldnt be pickleball. If there wasnt pickle ball we would have more tennis courts and people would get more exercise!

  30. Michele Chivers on May 4, 2021 at 11:33 pm

    For the serve, does your partner also have to adhere to the same line rules before you serve? Great videos! Th ask for doing them

  31. Wow Wow on May 4, 2021 at 11:33 pm

    love the podcast

  32. sallyann gill on May 4, 2021 at 11:34 pm

    Brand new player…I’ve been reading different site rules. One rule stated if you serve and it hits the non-volley zone line it is "out" What is the "non-volley zone line?"
    is it the back line going across the kitchen only? Or does it include the side line of the kitchen also?

  33. roger hong on May 4, 2021 at 11:35 pm

    Hi, When I move or take a step to serve the ball without touching the base line. Is it a fault?

  34. E P on May 4, 2021 at 11:36 pm

    This is shear stupidity from a rules perspective. If I hit a volley winner from mid court. The ball bounces twice on the other side, making it a dead ball. But we’ll after the point ends I walk into the kitchen. That’s a fault, according to these rules. Insanity.

  35. Ubaid Razi on May 4, 2021 at 11:37 pm

    Hi Garrett..Just wondering if you could give me some tips on the tournament? I am playing my first ever mix and mens double and appreciate what sort of preparation and strong shots should i work on? Thanks

  36. Divedown25 on May 4, 2021 at 11:37 pm

    God how many ”not to do ”rules. And with the new 2021 rule change. Can just imagine all the retired boomers just calling rules all a the time and afterwards at the clubs bar claiming that Ben and Barbara are serving with wrong wrist position. I can see how this sport will be big in Florida

  37. I.maiden 4 life eddie on May 4, 2021 at 11:38 pm

    When does the drop serve rule start in 2021 ?

  38. Teresa Fisher on May 4, 2021 at 11:38 pm

    Thanks for the very informative video. I am a new player and I am playing with mostly new players. We have had a recurring debate about receiving serves during doubles. I am under the understanding that the serve is served diagonally and must be returned by the player that is on that side. There are a couple of players that say that is not true and that it doesn’t matter which player returns the ball. I can’t seem to find the definitive answer to this question. Thanks in advance for your insight.

  39. Ron Labelle on May 4, 2021 at 11:38 pm

    I have a question, what’s the ruling if I put a backspin on a ball and it goes over the net and comes back to my side without anyone hitting it?

  40. sonnry ross on May 4, 2021 at 11:39 pm

    why, the first side to serve get only one serve? ive asked and have had many different reasons , none make any sense.

  41. Lovespitbulls on May 4, 2021 at 11:40 pm

    Hi, you just touched on this but didn’t get specific or maybe being general was enough: 4.A.9.If the serve clears the net or hits the net and then touches the receiver or the receiver’s partner, it is a point for the serving team. I don’t understand the sanity behind this rule at all especially if the ball hits the net.

  42. Mark W on May 4, 2021 at 11:40 pm

    I have a NVZ question that my local pickleball group has been debating. If I hit a groundstroke (not a volley) when the ball bounces outside the NVZ and my momentum carries me into the NVZ, is that a fault?

  43. un3k3 on May 4, 2021 at 11:44 pm

    After watching a bunch of these videos yours was most informative and easily understood thank you

  44. I.maiden 4 life eddie on May 4, 2021 at 11:46 pm

    Now when on the kitchen line my arm goes over the line volleying the ball back over the net but my feet dont go over the line I had ppl call me fault for being in the kitchen is it a fault of not ?

  45. Send It 808 on May 4, 2021 at 11:47 pm

    Hi Barrett, after you make contact with the ball on a serve can your foot touch or cross the baseline? As in if your serve includes a forward momentum and you catch yourself with any foot and its past the baseline upon impact, is that a legal serve?
    Or, do both feet have to stay behind the baseline during and directly after ball contact of a serve?

  46. _BJ TAGOAI_ on May 4, 2021 at 11:47 pm

    If the ball bounces in the kitchen and you step in to hit the ball can you slam it over? Meaning can you slam in the kitchen?

  47. SM SM on May 4, 2021 at 11:49 pm

    The servers feet are not crossing the imaginary extension of the center line. While serving, can the paddle still cross the imaginary extension of the center line? All other service rules are met – paddle motion, top of paddle below the wrist, and hitting below waist height.

  48. FelineGood - Living the Feral Life on May 4, 2021 at 11:51 pm

    Please do a presentation on Pickleball etiquette. I’m a rec player who plays random pick up doubles games and have less than a year playing experience. I understand that one should not talk to their partner during play other than to call "mine". Also I’ve seen some players get testy about poaching during doubles play or players who hug the center up at the NV line. Your input please.

  49. Ken Trock on May 4, 2021 at 11:53 pm

    The future part of the kitchen rule is interesting. You legally volley a winner and the ball bounces twice on the other side, point over. Now you lose your balance and step into the kitchen. That’s a kitchen violation and point to the other side, or side out. Strange rule. In tennis, once the ball bounces twice on their side, the point is truely over.

  50. Samuel Mutsutsururu on May 4, 2021 at 11:57 pm

    bad bunny